Book Review: “The Wicked Will Rise”, by Danielle Paige

Recommended Beverage while Reading: Mountain Dew, because while delicious, I feel like it is so artificial that it perhaps doesn’t even belong in this world.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

In this dark, high-octane sequel to the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die, Amy Gumm must do everything in her power to kill Dorothy and free Oz.

To make Oz a free land again, Amy Gumm was given a mission: remove the Tin Woodman’s heart, steal the Scarecrow’s brain, take the Lion’s courage, and then Dorothy must die….

But Dorothy still lives. Now the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked has vanished, and mysterious Princess Ozma might be Amy’s only ally. As Amy learns the truth about her mission, she realizes that she’s only just scratched the surface of Oz’s past—and that Kansas, the home she couldn’t wait to leave behind, may also be in danger. In a place where the line between good and evil shifts with just a strong gust of wind, who can Amy trust—and who is really Wicked? (Goodreads)

Okay, so those of you who have followed me for a few months know that not too long ago I read Dorothy Must Die and was somewhat hesitant to read it. It was one of those books I saw all over the place and picked up more out of obligation to the online/instagram book community that because I had actual interest in its plot. However, it was one of those rare occasions that the book fully lived up to the hype. I loved it. And, because I read it only a month before the release of the second one, I didn’t have to wait long to get my hands on The Wicked Will Rise.

I don’t want to say that I was disaIMG_20150503_121205ppointed because I still loved the book. But the best way I can describe my feelings is that it felt more like a novella that just filled in the space between two longer pieces of fiction. It was great — but it needed more fleshing out. I felt like a lot of it was rushed without need, because it wasn’t a long book but could easily have been longer. Readers would easily have read a book twice as long and not felt it a daunting task.

Really, that was my only issue with the book. I love Amy for her snarkiness and her ability to see what is truly important. She knows there are more important things than finding the guy she has a crush on, and she doesn’t dwell on it! The insanity! Truly, that doesn’t happen much in YA books and whenever it does, it’s like a breath of fresh air.

I also love that this series is surprisingly gory. I’ll admit that violence is not an issue for me, as long as it isn’t perverse. If it’s done well, in fact, it can be highly entertaining while simultaneously horrifying. The dichotomy is appealing. I love that the plot of this book contrasts so drastically with the common knowledge of the world of Oz, and that Amy just accepts it. There’s no point in considering why all this is happening, because it is and there is simply no time to become pensive.

Basically, this was a decent sequel. I will most definitely be reading the next one. I can only hope it’s a little more expansive! Because, honestly, I love the world and the characters and want it to last as long as possible.

One thought on “Book Review: “The Wicked Will Rise”, by Danielle Paige

Leave a comment